Sævar Örn

MK4 Hilux travel rig from Iceland *56K warning

Sævar Örn

Hello HPOC! I have just found you! But as a matter of a fact I've had my pickup since may this year, and I've already done a ton of work to it, however there are several things still left to do, and along the way I may need some help, so thats where this forum comes in very handy.

My name is Sævar Örn, I'm born in 1991 and I have a master technician degree as an automotive mechanic, but I left the repair field a few years ago because I like to do that kind of work as a hobby, and doing it from 8 in the morning to 5 in the afternoon, and then again in my own shop after dinner to midnight was just too much! So today I am a M.O.T. inspector.

I've had some trucks before, I had a suzuki vitara from 2009 to 2014 and it came a long way, it was my first modification vehicle, it started out as just a normal everyday 33" vitara, and ended up as a 38" solid axle swapped monster, toyota hilux mk3 axles actually, and gearbox, but an engine from a Hyundai Galloper, 2.5. turbo diesel! A true monster really, and it was called Rudolph Diesel.

After I sold that car in 2014 I bought a Ford Explorer which was my second modification vehicle, it was the same there, it started slowly but by the time I sold it I had put a 2.9 mercedes turbo diesel 5 cylinder engine in it, 46" tires and GMC 3500 heavy duty solid truck axles!

here I have some photo of each of these cars, the build threads for them are mostly in Icelandic, and I don't plan to translate them very much, but maybe you will like to scroll through the photo albums, please keep in mind that when I was modifying my Suzuki I was 18 years old so not everything was done to "the book!"

but it worked!

Here are links to the build threads on Facebook

Suzuki Vitara 2009-12 and 2012-14

Ford Explorer

1399658_10152406581522907_917620041_o.jp1514945_10152524950107907_1193425146_n.j

1487872_10152453957932907_1468338396_o.j1620928_10152663014442907_594899689_n.jp